Rape And Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse

If you have been arrested and charged with rape or involuntary deviate sexual intercourse in Pennsylvania, you can potentially face significant time in jail and hefty fines. If you are found guilty and are convicted of IDSI or rape, under Pennsylvania law, you will likely be required to register as a sex offender, which can negatively impact your career, education, and even adversely affect your daily interactions with other and/or relationships with friends and family.

Understanding Rape Charges

Under Pennsylvania law, you can be convicted of rape if you:

  • Had sexual intercourse with another against their will and without their consent
  • Used force or threatened to use force in order to engage in sexual intercourse with that person

A person’s unwillingness to engage in sexual intercourse does not have to be explicit, meaning, a person does not have to outright say they do not want to engage in sexual intercourse, particularly in instances where the person is unconscious, drunk, drugged, or is suffering from a disability or mental illness where they may be incapable of consenting. Rape in Pennsylvania is considered a felony in the first degree. Accordingly, if you are convicted of rape, you can face up to 20 years’ imprisonment and a fine of up to $25,000. Under circumstances where it is found that you participated in drugging the victim in order to rape them, you can be subject to additional jail time.

Under Pennsylvania law, a rape offense is considered rape of a child if the alleged victim was less than thirteen years of age. The rape of a child is also considered a first-degree felony, with penalties including up to twenty years’ imprisonment. However, if you happen to injure the child during the rape, you can face even harsher penalties.

Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse (IDSI) In Pennsylvania

Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse, like rape, involves engaging in deviate sexual behavior with someone else by use or threat of force. But IDSI generally covers deviate sexual behavior that is not necessarily considered rape, including offenses that involve penetration using foreign objects, or sexual intercourse with an animal. Similar to rape, consent does not have to be direct or actual, and if the alleged victim is unconscious, drunk, drugged, or mentally ill to the point that they are incapable of consenting, you can still be arrested and charged with IDSI. Under Pennsylvania law, IDSI is considered a felony in the first degree, where penalties can include up to twenty years’ imprisonment, and a fine of up to $25,000. Moreover, like rape, you can be sentenced to additional jail time if you participated in drugging the alleged victim so they were incapable of resisting your IDSI.

In Pennsylvania, you can be charged with the offense of IDSI with a child if you have deviate sex with a child who is younger than 13 years old, even if the child directly and actually consents. This offense is also considered a first-degree felony under Pennsylvania law, where a conviction can result in up to 20 years in jail. If you injure the child in during your sexually deviate act, the punishment you receive will likely be more severe.

Contact A Lawyer Right Away

A rape or involuntary deviate sexual intercourse charge in Pennsylvania should not be taken lightly, especially if the alleged offense involved a child younger than thirteen years of age, as a conviction can result in significant jail time, hefty fines, and you will likely have to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life. In addition, a criminal conviction can have a negative impact on your ability to obtain or keep a job or even obtain student financial aid. If you or a loved one has been charged with rape, ISDI, or any other sex crime, contact a knowledgeable and experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. The attorneys at Coover & Associates have successfully helped other people who have faced similar criminal sex charges like yours, and they help you determine the best strategy for fighting your sex crime charge today. Call 717-885-5830 or 717-243-9190. Complete our form to reach out online.