If you are caught committing even minor traffic violations in Pennsylvania, you can have points added to your driver’s license. These points show up in a report that can affect your credit report, get your license suspended or raise your insurance rates.
Points for speeding
The most common way to have points added to your Pennsylvania driver’s license is to speed. The law adds two points to your license if you go six to 10 miles above the posted speed limit. By the time you are going 26 or more miles over the speed limit, five points are added to your license. Three additional points are added if the violation occurs in a school zone, and five extra points are added if it is in a work zone. Points continue to accumulate.
License suspension in Pennsylvania
The first time an adult gets six points on their license, they will get a written notification that their license is suspended for five days per point. A hearing is held where you will be able to present a criminal defense the next time they get points, and the third time results in 15 days per point. The license is suspended for one year on the fourth offense. If the person is under 18, getting six or more points or being convicted of driving 26 miles per hour over the speed limit results in a 90-day suspension.
Getting points removed
Drivers in Pennsylvania can get three points removed for not getting stopped for a traffic violation in one year. Then, if you get a ticket, the offense is treated like it was your first.
Pennsylvania adds points to your license, which stays there for life or until you do not get caught for one year for minor traffic violations. For more serious offenses, like DUI, passing stopped school buses and driving around railroad arms, the police can immediately suspend your license.